Classification of U.S. States' Medicaid Expansion Status for Low-income Adults without Dependent Children as of December 31, 2019

coverageMedicaid coverageAlaska*AlabamaArizonaFloridaArkansasGeorgiaCaliforniaIdahoColoradoKansasConnecticutMississippiDelawareMissouriDistrict of ColumbiaNebraskaHawaiiNorth CarolinaIllinoisOklahomaIndiana*South DakotaKentuckyTennesseeLouisiana*TexasMaine*UtahMichigan*North CarolinaNichigan*North CarolinaNorthana*South DakotaKentuckyTennesseeLouisiana*TexasMaine*UtahMarylandWyomingMassachusettsNorth CarolinaNebraskaIndiana*NevadaIndiana*New Hampshire*Indiana*New YorkIndiana*New YorkIndiana*New MexicoIndiana*New MexicoIndiana*North DakotaIndiana*North DakotaIndiana*Noho InoIndiana*Noho InoIndiana*North Dakota<	States with expanded Medicaid	States without expanded
ArizonaFloridaArkansasGeorgiaCaliforniaIdahoColoradoKansasConnecticutMississippiDelawareMissouriDistrict of ColumbiaNebraskaHawaiiNorth CarolinaIllinoisOklahomaIndiana*South CarolinaIowaSouth DakotaKentuckyTennesseeLouisiana*TexasMaine*UtahMarylandWyomingMassachusettsMinnesotaNebraskaImage: Constant C	coverage	Medicaid coverage
ArkansasGeorgiaCaliforniaIdahoColoradoKansasConnecticutMississippiDelawareMissouriDistrict of ColumbiaNebraskaHawaiiNorth CarolinaIllinoisOklahomaIndiana*South CarolinaIowaSouth CarolinaIowaSouth DakotaKentuckyTennesseeLouisiana*TexasMaine*UtahMarylandWyomingMassachusettsMinnesotaNebraskaNewadaNew YorkNew YorkNew MexicoNorth DakotaOhioOhioOhioOhioVermontVirginia*Washington	Alaska*	Alabama
CaliforniaIdahoColoradoKansasConnecticutMississippiDelawareMissouriDistrict of ColumbiaNebraskaHawaiiNorth CarolinaIllinoisOklahomaIndiana*South CarolinaIowaSouth DakotaKentuckyTennesseeLouisiana*TexasMaine*UtahMarylandWyomingMassachusettsMinnesotaNebraskaNevadaNew Hampshire*New YorkNew YorkNew MexicoNorth DakotaOhioOregonPennsylvania*Rhode IslandVermontVirginia*Washington	Arizona	Florida
ColoradoKansasConnecticutMississippiDelawareMissouriDistrict of ColumbiaNebraskaHawaiiNorth CarolinaIllinoisOklahomaIndiana*South CarolinaIowaSouth DakotaKentuckyTennesseeLouisiana*TexasMaine*UtahMarylandWyomingMassachusettsMichigan*NebraskaNevadaNew YorkNew YorkNew MexicoNorth DakotaOhioOregonPennsylvania*Rhode IslandVirginia*Washington	Arkansas	Georgia
ConnecticutMississippiDelawareMissouriDistrict of ColumbiaNebraskaHawaiiNorth CarolinaIllinoisOklahomaIndiana*South CarolinaIowaSouth DakotaKentuckyTennesseeLouisiana*TexasMaine*UtahMarylandWyomingMassachusettsMinnesotaMontana*NebraskaNebraskaNevadaNew YorkNew Hampshire*New JerseyNew MexicoNorth DakotaOhioOregonPennsylvania*Rhode IslandVermontVirginia*WashingtonWashingtonLatenteen	California	Idaho
DelawareMissouriDistrict of ColumbiaNebraskaHawaiiNorth CarolinaIllinoisOklahomaIndiana*South CarolinaIowaSouth CarolinaIowaSouth DakotaKentuckyTennesseeLouisiana*TexasMaine*UtahMarylandWyomingMassachusettsMinnesotaNebraskaNevadaNew YorkNew JerseyNew MexicoNorth DakotaOhioOregonPennsylvania*Rhode IslandVirginia*Washington	Colorado	Kansas
District of ColumbiaNebraskaHawaiiNorth CarolinaIllinoisOklahomaIndiana*South CarolinaIowaSouth CarolinaIowaSouth DakotaKentuckyTennesseeLouisiana*TexasMaine*UtahMarylandWyomingMassachusettsMichigan*MinnesotaMontana*NebraskaNevadaNew Hampshire*New Hampshire*New YorkNew JerseyNew MexicoNorth DakotaOhioOregonOnegonPennsylvania*Rhode IslandVermontVirginia*Washington	Connecticut	Mississippi
HawaiiNorth CarolinaIllinoisOklahomaIndiana*South CarolinaIowaSouth DakotaKentuckyTennesseeLouisiana*TexasMaine*UtahMarylandWyomingMassachusettsMichigan*Montana*NebraskaNew Hampshire*New JerseyNew MexicoNorth DakotaOhioOregonPennsylvania*Rhode IslandVirginia*Washington	Delaware	Missouri
IllinoisOklahomaIndiana*South CarolinaIowaSouth DakotaKentuckyTennesseeLouisiana*TexasMaine*UtahMarylandWyomingMassachusettsImage: South CarolinaMichigan*Image: South CarolinaMontana*Image: South CarolinaNebraskaImage: South CarolinaNew AdaImage: South CarolinaNew YorkImage: South CarolinaNew JerseyImage: South CarolinaNorth DakotaImage: South CarolinaOhioImage: South CarolinaOnioImage: South CarolinaVirginia*Image: South CarolinaWashingtonImage: South Carolina	District of Columbia	Nebraska
Indiana*South CarolinaIowaSouth DakotaKentuckyTennesseeLouisiana*TexasMaine*UtahMarylandWyomingMassachusettsMichigan*MinnesotaMontana*NebraskaNew AdaNew YorkNew JerseyNew MexicoNorth DakotaOhioOregonPennsylvania*Rhode IslandVirginia*Washington	Hawaii	North Carolina
IowaSouth DakotaKentuckyTennesseeLouisiana*TexasMaine*UtahMarylandWyomingMassachusettsImage: Constraint of the second seco	Illinois	Oklahoma
KentuckyTennesseeLouisiana*TexasMaine*UtahMarylandWyomingMassachusettsImage: Constraint of the second secon	Indiana*	South Carolina
Louisiana*TexasMaine*UtahMarylandWyomingMassachusettsMichigan*MinnesotaMontana*NebraskaNevadaNew Hampshire*New JerseyNew MexicoNorth DakotaOhioOregonPennsylvania*Rhode IslandVermontVirginia*Washington	Iowa	South Dakota
Maine*UtahMarylandWyomingMassachusetts	Kentucky	Tennessee
MarylandWyomingMassachusetts	Louisiana*	Texas
MassachusettsMichigan*MinnesotaMontana*NebraskaNevadaNew Hampshire*New YorkNew JerseyNew MexicoNorth DakotaOhioOregonPennsylvania*Rhode IslandVirginia*Washington	Maine*	Utah
Michigan*MinnesotaMontana*NebraskaNevadaNew Hampshire*New YorkNew YorkNew JerseyNew MexicoNorth DakotaOhioOregonPennsylvania*Rhode IslandVermontVirginia*Washington	Maryland	Wyoming
MinnesotaMontana*NebraskaNevadaNew Hampshire*New YorkNew JerseyNew MexicoNorth DakotaOhioOregonPennsylvania*Rhode IslandVermontVirginia*Washington	Massachusetts	
Montana*NebraskaNevadaNew Hampshire*New YorkNew YorkNew JerseyNew MexicoNorth DakotaOhioOregonPennsylvania*Rhode IslandVermontVirginia*Washington	Michigan*	
NebraskaNevadaNew Hampshire*New YorkNew YorkNew JerseyNew MexicoNorth DakotaOhioOregonPennsylvania*Rhode IslandVermontVirginia*Washington	Minnesota	
NevadaNew Hampshire*New YorkNew JerseyNew MexicoNorth DakotaOhioOregonPennsylvania*Rhode IslandVermontVirginia*Washington	Montana*	
New Hampshire*New YorkNew JerseyNew MexicoNorth DakotaOhioOregonPennsylvania*Rhode IslandVermontVirginia*Washington	Nebraska	
New YorkNew JerseyNew MexicoNorth DakotaOhioOregonPennsylvania*Rhode IslandVermontVirginia*Washington	Nevada	
New JerseyNew MexicoNorth DakotaOhioOregonPennsylvania*Rhode IslandVermontVirginia*Washington	New Hampshire*	
New MexicoNorth DakotaOhioOregonPennsylvania*Rhode IslandVermontVirginia*Washington	New York	
North DakotaOhioOregonPennsylvania*Rhode IslandVermontVirginia*Washington	New Jersey	
OhioOregonPennsylvania*Rhode IslandVermontVirginia*Washington	New Mexico	
OregonPennsylvania*Rhode IslandVermontVirginia*Washington	North Dakota	
Pennsylvania* Rhode Island Vermont Virginia* Washington	Ohio	
Rhode Island Vermont Virginia* Washington	Oregon	
Vermont Virginia* Washington	Pennsylvania*	
Virginia* Washington	Rhode Island	
Washington	Vermont	
	Virginia*	
Wisconsin**	Washington	
W 15C0115111	Wisconsin**	

*Delayed expansion states: Michigan (4/1/2014), New Hampshire (8/15/2014), Pennsylvania (1/1/2015), Indiana (2/1/2015), Alaska (9/1/2015), Montana (1/1/2016), Louisiana (7/1/2016), Virginia (1/1/2019), Maine (1/10/2019); Medicaid expansion became effective for all other states on January 1, 2014.

**While Wisconsin is not considered an ACA Medicaid expansion state, it did receive federal approval to offer coverage to nearly all non-elderly, childless adults with incomes below 100% FPL through its existing Badger Care program.